Face Your Phobias with School of Fear

Face Your Phobias with School of Fear

Posted by in Author News, Blog, Book News, News, Recommended Reading

School of Fear is a hilarious new series for Atom kids from author Gitty Daneshvari. Packed with dark humour, quirky characters and over-the-top gloominess, these books are perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket.

Pupils at School of Fear have to face their phobias. Some are pretty normal: think spiders, snakes and creepy crawlies. Some are downright silly.

Have a look at the list of phobias below and see if you can guess the true meaning of each. Answers at the bottom, but no sneaky peeking!

1. Ablutophobia
a. The fear of buttons
b. The fear of having a bath
c. The fear of doing things

2. Arachibutyrophobia
a. The fear of spiders
b. The fear of nonsense
c. The fear of peanut butter sticking to the roof of your mouth

3. Chiroptophobia
a. The fear of bats
b. The fear of chiropractors
c. The fear of chirping birds

4. Friggatriskaidekaphobia
a. A made up word
b. An unpronounceable word
c. The fear of Friday 13th

5. Hylophobia
a. The fear of water
b. The fear of trees or forests
c. The fear of hoola-hooping

6. Omphalophobia
a. The fear of belly buttons
b. The fear of oompa-loompas
c. The fear of everything

7. Phobophobia
a. The fear of having a phobia
b. The fear of light
c. The fear of people called Phoebe

1. B 2. C 3. A 4. C (although we'd accept B as well!) 5. B 6. A 7. A

School of Fear and School of Fear: Class Is Not Dismissed are available now from Atom. School of Fear: The Final Exam is out in January 2013.

Related posts:

  1. Gitty Daneshvari in London
  2. Night School: Legacy – Cover Reveal & Exclusive Extract
  3. Read an extract from Ghoulfriends Forever
  4. The Land of Stories publication day!
  5. Defiance: Blog tour

Tags for this Article:

, , ,